Awards & Honors

Sep 15th, 2009 | By | Category: Employee News, Issue, September 10, 2009

Chris Calkins, professor of animal science, was named the Harry L. Rudnick Educator of the Year during the North American Meat Processors Association’s conference in Chicago in March.

Becky Faber, assistant director in Career Services, received the Innovative Programs and Practices Award given by the American Association for Employment in Education.

Alexi Gruverman, associate professor in physics and astronomy, had a paper, “Vortex ferrorelectric domains,” selected by one of the 20 Top Papers for 2008 by “Journals of Physics: Condensed Matter.”

Gerard Harbison, professor of chemistry, was a featured presenter at the American Chemical Society national meeting in Salt Lake City. He spoke at a news conference about UNL research on using computer simulations to analyze potential peroxide-based explosives. The ACS chooses news to feature for national media at the convention. Harbison’s presentation was watched live and repeated worldwide.

Alice Henneman, registered dietitian and extension educator with UNL Extension in Lancaster County, received the Helen Denning Ullrich Annual Award of Excellence at the Society for Nutrition Education Annual Conference.

Gail Kendall, professor of art, received the 2009 National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts’ Excellence in Teaching Award.

Kristen Lucas, assistant professor in Communication Studies, was awarded the Federation Prize at the Central States Communication Association’s conference in April.

Pat McBride, associate dean of Admissions, was named Outstanding Orientation Professional by the National Orientation Directors Association.

K.P. Rajurkar, professor of engineering in industrial and management systems, was awarded the Society of Manufacturing Engineers Gold Medal for his prolific contributions to technical communications through published literature, technical writings or lectures.

Brian Reiling, associate professor of animal science, Darrell Mark, associate professor of agricultural economics, and Cheryl Bailey, assistant professor of biochemistry, received 2009 Teacher Fellow Awards from the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture.

Mario Scalora, associate professor of psychology, assisted with security during the Jan. 20 inauguration of Pres. Barack Obama. Scalora has consulted for the U.S. Capitol Police for more than a decade.

Janice Stauffer, associate professor of costume design, was awarded the Kennedy Center Gold Medallion for her work as a designer, teacher, festival-production designer and mentor.

Timothy Wentz, professor of construction management, was awarded the Mechanical Contractors Association of America’s Distinguished Service Award during the association’s annual convention in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave Comment