For The Record

Prairie Schooner awards prizes

The Prairie Schooner gave 14 writing prizes totaling $7,000 for work published in its 2003 volume.

“Real Indians” by Debra Magpie Earling, published in the summer issue, received the $1,000 Lawrence Foundation Award for the best short story in the 2003 volume. Earling is the author of Perma Red and is a member of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation.

Robert Olen Butler is the winner of the $1,000 Virginia Faulkner Award for Excellence in Writing for “Severance: Three Fictions,” which appeared in the winter issue. Butler is the author of 12 books including A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, winner of the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

The $1,000 Edward Stanley Award for Poetry was awarded to Richard Tayson for his two poems in the winter issue. Tayson’s first book of poems, The Apprentice of Fever, won the Wick Poetry Prize.

The Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Award, an annual prize of $1,000, was awarded to Lee Martin for his essay, “Turning Bones,” published in the spring issue. Martin is an associate professor at Ohio State University and the author of Quakertown, From Our House, The Least You Need to Know and Turning Bones.

The Bernice Slote Award, a $500 prize for the best work by a beginning writer, was awarded to Judith Beck for her essay, “Button Up Your Overcoat,” published in the fall issue. Beck is a physician and writer.

The Prairie Schooner Strousse Award of $500 for the best poem or group of poems was awarded to Lee Ann Roripaugh for her two poems published in the fall issue. Roripaugh’s first volume of poetry, Beyond Heart Mountain, was a 1998 winner of the National Poetry Series and was selected as a finalist for the 2000 Asian American Literary Awards.

Valerie Miner is the winner of the $250 Hugh J. Luke Award for her story “Percussion,” which appeared in the fall issue. Miner is the author of seven novels and four collections of short stories. Her latest collection will appear this fall from Michigan State University Press.

Prairie Schooner Readers’ Choice Awards of $250 each went to Sharon Oard Warner of Albuquerque, N.M, for the story “Signs of Life” in the spring issue; Jeanne Murray Walker of Merion, Pa., for four poems in the winter issue; Jim Daniels of Pittsburgh for three poems in the spring issue; Nance Van Winckel of Liberty Lake, Wash. for four poems in the spring issue; Carol Bly of St. Paul, Minn., for the story, “Love in a Time of Empire,” in the summer issue; Ann Darby of New York for her story “Pity my Simplicity” in the summer issue; and Jana Harris of Sultan, Wash., for four poems in the fall issue.

Prairie Schooner is a quarterly magazine published with the support of the English Department and the University of Nebraska Press.

2 news-editorial students earn Hearst Journalism Awards
Agri-business group honors 2
Benesh awarded Fulbright, will conduct research in Finland
Hefle elected as a fellow
Library of Crop Technology receives national praise
Lutz awarded council honor
Page wins 2nd forensics championship
Prairie Schooner awards prizes