Three named AAAS fellows

Dec 13th, 2012 | By | Category: 2012, Issue, Research

Three UNL professors on Nov. 29 were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science — the world’s largest general scientific society. It’s the first time three UNL scientists achieved the honor in the same year.

The tradition of naming AAAS Fellows goes back to 1874. It is a peer-designated selection based on scientifically or socially distinguished efforts among scientists to advance science or its application.

This year, 702 members are awarded this honor by AAAS, and will be presented with a certificate and a gold and blue (representing science. and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 16 during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave Comment