American Mathematical Society honors 6 from UNL

Nov 15th, 2012 | By | Category: 2012, Employee News, Issue, Nov. 15

Six UNL professors are among the accomplished mathematicians from around the world who have been invited to join a prestigious national organization’s inaugural class of fellows.

The recently announced first class of American Mathematical Society fellows includes individuals who are members of the society who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and use of mathematics. The society has a total membership of more than 30,000. The inaugural class includes 1,119 fellows representing more than 600 institutions.

The society has extended the honor to the following UNL scholars: Luchezar Avramov, professor of math; Jim Lewis, professor of math; David Manderscheid, dean of Arts and Sciences; Judy Walker, professor and chair of math; Roger Wiegand, emeritus professor; and Sylvia Wiegand, emeritus professor.

For more details on the fellows program, go to

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave Comment